Combining finance and policies to implement a transformative post-2015 development agenda

The fifth edition of the European Report on Development (ERD 2015), launched in May 2015, has the theme of “Combining finance and policies to implement a transformative post-2015 development agenda”.

It aims to address financing and other means of implementation in the post-2015 context in order to bring the post-2015 finance and goal setting processes together. The report provides an overview of development finance needs and supply, and the impact other means of implementation can have on the availability and effectiveness of finance. It includes country illustrations from Bangladesh, Mauritius, Tanzania, Ecuador, Indonesia and Moldova.

Launch of the report

The ERD 2015 was launched on 4 May 2014 in Brussels by the European Commissioner for International Cooperation and Development, Neven Mimica.

Speaking at the launch, Commissioner Mimica said: “The post-2015 agenda is a major priority for the EU. Eradicating poverty and achieving sustainable development are two of the most pressing challenges facing the world today. They are also fundamentally interlinked: there can be no poverty eradication without sustainable development, and vice versa. Today’s report is a valuable research-based and independent contribution to our thinking and to the global debate on the post-2015 agenda.”

Ahead of the launch, ECDPM’s James Mackie was invited to present the emerging messages of the European Report on Development 2015 to a joint seminar hosted by the EU Delegation to Japan and the Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA).

ERD team

The European Commission and Finland, France, Germany and Luxembourg have commissioned the Overseas Development Institute (ODI), the German Development Policy Institute (DIE), the European Centre for Development Policy Management (ECDPM), the University of Athens (Department of Economics, Division of International Economics and Development) and the Southern Voice Network to produce the fifth ERD.

The team leader is Dirk Willem te Velde. Other team members are James Mackie (ECDPM), Peter Wolff, Louka Katseli, Debapriya Bhattacharya, Gillian Hart, Leah Worrall.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.